July & August '09 Concerts

For those of you who wanna check out something other than another blockbuster sequel or lay down $100 at some pretentious nightclub, maybe one of the concerts below will tickle your fancy (that's right, I said it!). Over the last few years Edmonton has become one of North America's hot spots for concerts, from indie rock bands to international pop stars. Here are some of the bigger names coming to town during July and August:

July '09:
-Nazareth @ Edmonton Event Centre (8:00/ Friday, July 10)
-Jo Dee Messina @ River Cree Casino (8:00/ Sunday, July 12)
-The Proclaimers @ Century Casino (7:00/ Wednesday, July 15)
-No Doubt, Paramore @ Rexall Place (7:30/ Thursday, July 16)
-Bedouin Soundclash, DJ Eclair @ Prohibition Pub (10:30/ Thursday, July 16)*
-Akon @ Edmonton Event Centre (8:00/ Tuesday, July 21 & Friday, July 24)
-Social Distortion @ Edmonton Event Centre (7:00/ Wednesday, July 22)
-Eagles of Death Metal @ Edmonton Event Centre (8:00/ Thursday, July 23)
-Blink-182, Fall Out Boy @ Rexall Place (7:00/ Friday, July 31)
-Irish Descendants @ Century Casino (7:00/ Friday, July 31)

August '09:
-Clutch @ Edmonton Event Centre (8:00/ Saturday, August 1)
-The Moody Blues @ Winspear Centre (7:30/ Sunday, August 2)
-Rod Stewart @ Rexall Place (8:00/ Monday, August 10)
-Aerosmith, ZZ Top @ Commonwealth Stadium (4:00/ Tuesday, August 11)
(CANCELLED)
-Kings of Leon @ Rexall Place (8:00/ Wednesday, August 12)
-Busta Rhymes, Belly @ Edmonton Event Centre (7:00/ Thursday, August 13)
-Clint Black @ River Cree Casino (8:00/ Sunday, August 16)
-Lil' Wayne @ Rexall Place (8:00/ Tuesday, August 18)
-BJ Thomas @ Century Casino (7:00/ Thursday, August 20)
-Lions for Sheep @ Starlite Room (9:00/ Thursday, August 20)
-Chilliwack @ Century Casino (7:00/ Saturday, August 22)
-AC/DC @ Commonwealth Stadium (6:30/ Wednesday, August 26)
-The Beach Boys @ River Cree Casino (8:00/ Thursday, August 27)
-Daniel O'Donnell @ Rexall Place (7:00/ Friday, August 28)
-The Cult @ River Cree Casino (8:00/ Sunday, August 30)

*Bedouin Soundclash will open for No Doubt at Rexall Place Thursday night, with Prohibition Pub hosting the after party with band member DJ Eclair at about 10:30. The rest of the band members will join Eclair later in the evening.

Venue Contacts:
-Rexall Place @ 7424-118 ave. (780-471-7210)
-Winspear Theatre @ 4 Sir Winston Churchill Square (780-428-1414)
-River Cree Casino @ Enoch Cree Reservation (780-484-2121)
-Edmonton Event Centre @ 8882-170 St. (780-489-7469)
-Century Casino @ 13103-Fort Road (780-643-4000)
-Prohibition Pub @ 11026-Jasper ave. (780-420-0448)
-Ticketmaster @ 8882-170 St., etc. (780-444-2576)
e

Popular Posts

Reason #86 of '101 Reasons Why I Heart Edmonton'

Reason #87 of '101 Reasons Why I Heart Edmonton'

Reason #76 of '101 Reasons Why I Heart Edmonton'

Reason #84 of '101 Reasons Why I Heart Edmonton'

Reason #63 of '101 Reasons Why I Heart Edmonton'