2015 Edmonton Music Awards

Edmonton's music scene may not always reach far beyond our borders, but the talent here is rampant and it shone bright at the annual #yeg Music Awards last Sunday!

By Emil Tiedemann

THE 2015 Edmonton Music Awards were handed out last Sunday night (June 14) at the Royal Alberta Museum Theatre, and there were several multiple winners during the 4th annual ceremony!

The 2015 Edmonton Music Awards were held June 14 at the Royal Alberta Museum

The vision of the Edmonton Music Awards is to acknowledge, celebrate and promote Edmonton music and musicians in all forms, because in case you weren't aware, there are plenty of talented local artists and bands that are making some pretty damn good music!

Names like Bryan Finley, Braden Gates, Kimberley MacGregor, and The Wet Secrets walked away with multiple trophies during the night, which celebrated more than a dozen different genres that are alive and well right here in our own backyard.

The complete list of winners of the 2015 Edmonton Music Awards - which were hosted by Dinner Television's Bridget Ryan - are listed below:

The Wet Secrets' 'Free Candy' was named Album of the Year

- Album of the Year: Free Candy by The Wet Secrets
- Single of the Year: "Good Times" by Bryan Finlay
- Group of the Year: Scenic Route to Alaska
- Male Artist of the Year: Braden Gates
- Female Artist of the Year: Kimberley MacGregor
- Rising Star Award: Savage Playground
- Adult Alternative Recording of the Year: "Queen of the May" by Rebecca Lappa
- Pop Recording of the Year: "Good Times" by Bryan Finlay
- Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year: "A Night Lost" by Mitchmatic
- Country Recording of the Year: "(Ain't Through Being) Happy Yet" by The Dungarees
- Roots/Folk Recording of the Year: "Life's a Picture" by Braden Gates
- Rock Recording of the Year: "She Don't Ask Why" by The Gibson Block
- Metal Recording of the Year: "Crossroads" by Striker
- Blues Recording of the Year: "Boredom is the Devil's Tool" by Tony Kaye
- Jazz Recording of the Year: "Zoetrope" by Jim Head
- R&B/Soul Recording of the Year: "Hope Displaced" by Kimberley MacGregor
- DJ/Electronic Recording of the Year: "Safe Place Song" by BMBSHL
- Music Video of the Year: "Nightlife" by The Wet Secrets
- Artist to Watch: Brother Octopus
- People's Choice: Mitchell Lawler
- Legacy Award: Kirby

Bryan Finlay's 'Good Times' wins for Single & Pop Recording of the Year
Braden Gates won for Male Artist & Roots/Folk Recording of the Year
Kimberley MacGregor won for Female Artist & R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Hip-hop artist Mitchell Lawler was named People's Choice winner

Congrats to all of the winners!

Here is Video of the Year winner, "Nightlife" by the Wet Secrets/


Popular posts from this blog

The Ultimate Edmonton Donair Guide

Did You Know? (Boston Pizza)

A Few Minutes With...Colin Close